First week as a real TL

Leave a comment

July 19, 2013 by patriciawhite84

Today marks the end of my first week as an actual teacher librarian! Although my time in this position is fleeting (10 weeks), I can honestly say that I am 100% happy with my decision to retrain as a TL. With that being said, I am already swimming in a sea of admin! Book Club arrived, two lots of standing orders, replacing lost/damaged books, issuing invoices for lost/damaged books as well as organising an author visit and special performance for Book Week. That is of course in additional to the daily grind of returning and issuing resources for students and teachers and of course library lessons. I do have to say that the returns trolley is a bit full, but thankfully with the help of students and volunteers, it isn’t as bad as it could be. I have also come to the realisation that being a teacher librarian is a serious workout. With all the squats, bends, twists, strength and stamina needed to carry out the job, I’m totally lost by how anyone can think that a teacher librarian just sits around and reads all day!

Now it’s time to rest up and get on with my study!

Leave a Reply

